Pour profiter au mieux du site alsace.com, veuillez repasser en mode portrait.


Nobel Prize for Chemistry: a researcher from the University of Strasbourg amongst the winners

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded on Wednesday 5 October 2016 to three scientists for their work on controlling molecules. Amongst them a researcher from the University of Strasbourg: Jean-Pierre Sauvage.

Two other scientists also participated in this work: Scotsman, J. Fraser Stoddart, of Northwestern University (USA) and Dutchman, Bernard L. Feringa, from the University of Groningen (Netherlands).

“Molecular machines will most likely be used in the development of things such as new materials, sensors and energy storage systems”, explained the Nobel Prize jury.

Jean-Pierre Sauvage is the first French prizewinner in 2016.

Jean-Pierre Sauvage - Nobel Prize Chemistry